Ahmed Sherief
1 min readJun 11, 2021

--

Hi Portia, thanks for your response and sharing your point of view on the article. Your description of the trees was touching; it shows how much you really care for them and for your community.

You and I share similar views on how the indigenous people were, and still are being mistreated all around Canada and The United States. I blame residential schools for the violence that engulfs several indigenous communities as they destroyed the fabrics of families and caused irreversible damage.

I also blame the ignorance, prejudice, and the superiority complex that some non-natives have and allows, or even encourages the mistreatment to continue. “This is how they want to live,” is an abhorrent misconception that people repeat to null their conscience.

I hope and pray for a much better future for all the indigenous people and communities, and I will keep educating myself and my kids about the different native culture this land still holds dear. It’s the least we can do to, at least, not fall into the pit of ignorance.

--

--

Ahmed Sherief

I am a Student of Psychology. I write to help people understand themselves, realize their potential, and live happier, stress-free lives.